Virat Kohli and other Athletes were honoured by Padmashri Award

Virat Kohli and other Athletes were honoured by Padmashri Award on Thursday March 30, 2017.


Indian Cricket Team captian Virat Kohli was awarded with Padmashri by President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapathi Bhavan. Not only Virat Kohli other Athletes were also honoured with Padmashri Award.

Virat Kohli has been seen in outstanding form over  last year in all formats. He smashed 1215 runs in Test cricket in 2016 and became the first man to smash double hundreds in four successive series. In 2013, he was given the Arjuna Award in recognition of his achievements in international cricket.

After been Indian captain Virat Kohli showed his performance in all the format by winning matches.

“It’s a huge honour for me to win the Padma Shri award, the fourth highest civilian award in this country. It’s not just related to sports but it’s an appreciation shown by the whole country. It gives me huge pleasure to receive this award,” Kohli had told then.

Hockey captain P R Sreejesh, Wrestler Sakshi Malik, Gymnast Dipa Karmakar, Rio Paralympics medallists Mariyappan Thangavelu and Deepa Malik, Discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricket team captain Shekhar Naik are the other sportspersons who were honourned today at Rashtrapathi bhavan by Padmashri award. There were no other Players name were mentioned in list of Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan awardees.

Padma Shri is the fourth highest civilian award , after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. Awarded by the Government of India, it is announced every year on India’s Republic Day.

Padma Awards were established on 1954. This award is given to citizens of India by recognizing their performance and contribution in different fields i.e. Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Medicine, Social Service and Public Affairs.

Sport Leadz Team congratulates all Talented Athletes  who received PadmaShri award.

Tweets for Kohli



Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: